Building a Dredge

Do-It-Yourself building projects and instructions

Moderators: russau, Leonard

Building a Dredge

Postby Disgruntled » Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:56 pm

Hi all, i'd like to start by saying im going to be building a 4inch dredge and am in the process of doing all my research, ive pretty much decided on a three stage sluice. along the lines of a Keene. i know all the parts to the dredge. and have found some nice diagrams to go off of for a model. where my problem is,. i do not have any measurements though :( i know its gonna be 16 wide 48 long. i have access to breaks shears rollers welders, pretty much a metal workers heaven, do to the fact im an aviation mechanic.

i was wondering if anyone that has a keene 4 inch three stage if the could post some pics and or just measurements so i can duplicate the dredge for the most part. things im mostly needing is riffle heights of the different sections. riffle lengths ie. long and short side of riffle. riffle spacing , under box height. and the likes, or, i someone has a link to said info that would be really nice also. im also having a problem finding what angle the flare is supossed to enter the back of the sluice.

and since ive only ran a A52 hand sluice a total of about 8 hours lol, im open to all the advice anyone is willing to give to help me build a really nice sluice.

from what i gather i need a 300GPM pump aswell?